Local Centers

Plan 2035 identifies 26 Local Centers and 5 Transit Districts. Each of these growth areas will offer similar activities to the Downtowns. As hubs, they will be centers for living, business, and recreation. However, they are of a smaller scale - and with a smaller range of activity - than the County's three Downtowns.

Each center is currently at a different stage for planning and development. We provide a list of centers with currently ongoing projects first, and then other centers for which planning work is still at an initial stage. Most of these centers have existing sector or long-range plans managed by other Sections.

Transit Districts

  • Branch Avenue Metro 
  • College Park/UMD Metro 
  • Greenbelt Metro 
  • National Harbor 
  • Suitland Metro 

Other Local Centers

  • Addison Road
  • Annapolis Road/ Glenridge
  • Beacon Heights
  • Bowie MARC
  • Brandywine
  • Capitol Heights
  • Cheverly Metro
  • Konterra
  • Landover Gateway
  • Landover Metro
  • Morgan Boulevard
  • Muirkirk MARC
  • Naylor Road Metro
  • Oxon Hill
  • Port Towns
  • Riverdale MARC
  • Riverdale Park
  • Seabrook MARC
  • Southern Avenue Metro
  • UMD West/Center/East
  • Westphalia